Roasted sweet corn and tomato soup

Fall is the time for soup. Or.. Well anytime is the time for soup in my world. I love soup!

This recipe for corn and tomato soup is quite different than other soups I’ve made. I have never blended up corn before. I had my doubts… But it turned out really tasty!

Step 1 was to roast the corn, tomatoes and garlic. I just used frozen corn since it was no longer in season. But I used lovely tomatoes from our garden.

IMG_4478.JPG

Step 2 was to cook up the onion in some oil in a pot. Then the peppers, broth, paprika and chili powder are added. Note- the recipe called for chipotle chili powder, so I used chipotle, but it made it very spicy! I will use regular chili powder next time!

IMG_4497.JPG

The next step is to add the roasted corn and tomatoes to the pot. Then it is simmered for about 20 minutes.

IMG_4498.JPG
My helper was busy stirring.

Finally, the soup is blended. I chose to use an immersion blender.

IMG_4499-0.JPG
Other than this soup being too spicy for my daughter to eat, it was very tasty!

IMG_4500-0.JPG

One thought on “Roasted sweet corn and tomato soup

Feel free to comment!

