Sweet and spicy cucumbers

Both my daughter and I love cucumbers and pickles. So when I stumbled upon this recipe for sweet and spicy cucumbers, I knew I was going to have to try them!

They are quite easy to make and are a great healthy snack.
You start out by peeling, halving and slicing the cucumbers. I halved the recipe as I only had 1 and 3/4 cucumbers.

IMG_4003.JPG
The slices are placed in a colander over a bowl. They are then sprinkled with salt, stirred and put in the fridge for an hour.

IMG_4004.JPG
While the cucumbers sit in the fridge, the sauce is made. The vinegar, water, sugar and red pepper flakes are boiled and then simmered until reduced.

IMG_4005.JPG
Once the sauce is done, it is removed from the heat and the red onions are added.

IMG_4008.JPG
After an hour, the cucumbers are taken out and patted dry. The sauce is added and stirred in.

IMG_4009-0.JPG
Then, the cucumbers are done!
These were a tasty snack! My daughter also loved them!

One thought on “Sweet and spicy cucumbers

Feel free to comment!

