Broccoli cheese soup

As the weather here got a bit colder, I decided to make one of my favorite soups from Pinterest. broccoli cheese soup includes vegetables with comfort and warmth.

To make this recipe, I started by sautéing the carrots, onions and celery in a big Dutch oven.

IMG_8402.JPG

IMG_8404-0.JPG
Once the veggies started getting tender, I added in the flour and mixed it all together. After that, I put the chicken broth and broccoli in, and let it cook for about 15 minutes.

IMG_8407.JPG
When the broccoli was cooked, the soup was turned down and the milk was then added.

IMG_8409.JPG
The last step was to add in the cheese and leave on low for at least 15 minutes.
The author of the blog post stated that she adds corn starch to her soup to make it a bit thicker. I decided I also wanted to thicken mine. I added corn starch mixed with milk a few times and let my soup simmer and it thickened a tiny bit but not to the degree I wanted. I finally gave up.

IMG_8411-0.JPG
This soup is quite tasty regardless of how thick it is. I garnished mine with a little sprinkle of cheese.

What is your go-to soup?

Feel free to comment!

