Baked Coconut shrimp

Coconut shrimp is one of my favorite things! Yum! So, when I saw a recipe for coconut shrimp from skinny taste, I knew I wanted to make it.
The steps are pretty simple. First, you assemble all the dishes for coating the shrimp. The coconut flakes, panko and salt are combined in a bowl. I put the flour on a small plate. And I whisked the egg in a small bowl.

IMG_8351.JPG
Unfortunately, I didn’t have uncooked shrimp, so I had to use cooked shrimp instead. I dipped the shrimp in the flour, making sure it was coated, then I dipped it into the egg and dropped it into the coconut mixture.

IMG_8352.JPG
Once all the shrimp were done, they baked in an oven for 10 minutes on one side, and about 6 on the other.

IMG_8356.JPG

For the dipping sauce, the recipe called for apricot preserves, rice wine vinegar and red pepper flakes. But, in my fridge, I already had apricot chili jam. So, I added a bit of rice wine vinegar to it and used it as the sauce.

IMG_8354.JPG

IMG_8355.JPG
The dipping sauce was okay. I prefer store bought sweet chili sauce over this dipping sauce though. A piña colada sauce would go great with this shrimp as well!

Feel free to comment!

