Strawberry basil iced tea

A few weeks ago, when I was at the Yellowknife farmers market, I had an iced tea from a vendor that was selling very interesting sounding iced tea. I had a peach rosemary iced tea.

So, I started thinking I could try making my own since I’m no longer in Yellowknife. The combination of strawberry and basil is something I quite enjoy, so I searched that on Pinterest. I found a recipe from Martha Stewart.

The very first thing I did was boil water and steep the tea. I used 4 tea bags and about 7 cups of water. While the tea steeped, I cut up some strawberries and placed them in a large bowl.

IMG_8251.JPG
Next, I boiled a cup of water with 3/4 cup sugar. I was skeptical of using that much sugar. I ALMOST used 1/2 a cup. And of course, I think the tea is a bit too sweet…!

IMG_8253.JPG

Once the mixture boiled, I turned the heat off and my helper added the basil.

IMG_8252.JPG

IMG_8254.JPG

IMG_8255.JPG
Once the basil syrup steeps for 10 minutes, the basil is ready to be removed and the mixture is poured over the strawberries.

IMG_8256.JPG
And finally, the strawberry and syrup mixture is added to the tea.

IMG_8257.JPG
This tea was quite tasty, although a bit on the sweet side. I think 1/2 cup of sugar would be sufficient next time. The tea was even better after spending a night in the fridge.

IMG_8261.JPG
My assistant sure enjoyed it!

Feel free to comment!

