Vegetable soup

As I was going through my fridge, I was noticing there were a bunch of vegetables that needed to be eaten. Recently, I had seen a pin for vegetable soup and decided to create my own.

The first thing I did was dice up a small onion and cooked them in some butter for about 5 minutes. Next, I added the chopped carrots. While the carrots cooked, I started chopping up the rest of the vegetables and adding them to the pot. I added broccoli, a red pepper, a russet potato, frozen corn, canned diced tomatoes and frozen green beans.

IMG_8227.JPG
After all of the vegetables were in the pot, I added in about 7 cups of my homemade vegetable stock. I also added salt, pepper, 2 small bay leaves and some dried basil. I let it all sit together over low heat for about an hour and a half. Chloe and I had it for lunch and she loved it. She only are certain vegetables but that’s ok with me!

IMG_8229.JPG
This was a really good way to use up vegetables that were just sitting in the fridge. It would be a good one to make and freeze for the winter. I’ll probably do that come fall.

Feel free to comment!

