Chicken enchilada quinoa bake

This recipe sounded really good and not too difficult. So I figured I would try it out.

The first two things I did was cook the quinoa and the chicken. I had some shredded rotisserie chicken in the freezer that I also used, mixed in with chicken breast.

IMG_8232.JPG

While the chicken and quinoa cooked, I diced up the onion, rinsed out the black beans and opened all necessary cans.

IMG_8231.JPG

Once everything was prepped, I started cooking the onions.

IMG_8233.JPG

The next step is to add the chicken, beans, chiles, enchilada sauce, quinoa, chile powder, and cheddar cheese. Once it is all mixed together, it is transferred to a baking dish.

IMG_8234.JPG

IMG_8235.JPG
The next step said to add Monterey Jack cheese, but I chose to use mozzarella because it is what I had on hand. I think this might have been a misstep.

IMG_8236.JPG
The dish baked for 15 minutes and spent 5 more minutes on broil. It looked delicious when it came out.

IMG_8237.JPG
Once served, there was sour cream, cilantro, and avocado to garnish. The recipe also suggested a Mexican cheese but once I again, I opted not to.

This quinoa bake was really good, but I think it needed a bit more flavor. Monterey Jack cheese would have probably added the flavor it was lacking.

Feel free to comment!

