White Cake

Well hello everyone my name is Adrienne & today I will be guest blogging on Morgan’s account. Let me start off by introducing myself. I am a 23 year old avid pinner on pinterest, I love cupcakes, makeup, cheerleading, travelling and being kind to others. Like many of us I am still creating my path in life. I am also one of Morgan’s best friends. We met in 2006 when I tried out for the high school cheer team. Morgan happened to be one of the coaches & from then on we became very good friends. We are always there for each other & that’s important in a friendship I’d say.
adrienne1
Today I want to talk about cake. Specifically white cakes, homemade moist white cakes. This is what I had set out for on my most recent pinterest journey. I found a recipe, well I found several recipes actually. The one I chose was . I wanted a simple cake something where I wouldn’t have to rush to the store to grab 9 strange, exotic ingredients I’d never use again. I’m exaggerating but I’m just meaning I wanted a fast simple tasty white cake.
I have made this recipe twice now. Both times I split the recipe in half & made cupcakes. The first time I made them they came out a bit dry & tasted kind of like a cornmeal muffin they weren’t sweet enough for my liking & I may have over mixed the batter or possibly over cooked them. They were pretty fluffy looking though. They were in the oven for 20 minutes the first time & although they weren’t terrible they were kind of just okay. Just okay is not acceptable for an Adrienne cupcake. So I decided to try making them again for Father’s day only this time I made sure to only use the mixer when incorporating the milk and vanilla & only until combined. This second time I created them I doubled the sugar, bad idea. Now they were too sweet, dense & sunk in the middle. The flavour again wasn’t terrible but not my best work. Since I still had to serve these I whipped up some whipping cream added lemon zest & only about a teaspoon of powdered sugar. The cupcakes actually ended up tasting like lemon meringue pie which was kind of cool. However I did not get the fluffy moist white cake I was looking for. I may try this recipe one more time, again cutting it in ½ but using 1 ½ cups of sugar because I think if I can get the sugar balance right I may be in luck for what I’m looking for. Two things I wanted to discuss 1.) They don’t state it in the directions when to add the vanilla, I found it appropriate to add it with the milk. 2.) Most of this recipe you use your hands to mix & fold. I thought that was kind of different. So the verdict, I’m not happy with this recipe as of yet I will be trying it a 3rd time to see the results. I will also be on the hunt and testing out more pinterest white cake recipes.adrienne4
adrienne5
adrienne2
adrienne3
adrienne7
adrienne8
adrienne6
Have you found a white cake recipe on pinterest you love?
How do you feel about incorporating ingredients using your hands?
Feel free to follow me on pinterest, username Adrienne Lucky

Feel free to comment!

