Mexican Quinoa

I love quinoa. Seriously. I would eat it every day if it wasn’t so expensive.
Right before cinco de mayo, I was searching for dishes to make. I found this recipe for Mexican quinoa and added it to my list of things to try. Although, I didn’t end up making it for cinco de mayo.

This week I finally got around to it. And I’m sure glad I did. It was a hit! Even with my daughter, although she would really only eat the quinoa part (with an occasional hidden corn or diced tomato).

The recipe is really quite simple.

20140605-223755-81475524.jpg
First, I put the garlic and the (homegrown) jalapeño in the pan.
The next step is basically adding every ingredient in.

20140605-224035-81635329.jpg
I brought the dish to a boil, covered and reduced the heat.
20 minutes later, I added the avocado, lime juice and cilantro.

20140605-224150-81710797.jpg
Once everything was all mixed together, it was ready to eat.

20140605-224255-81775125.jpg
Matt added a cooked egg on top of his because I was worried it wouldn’t be filling enough.
I was full from my serving. Although, later on I noticed I was a bit hungry.

I’m very happy how this turned out. It was so easy to make, nutritious and delicious! I highly recommend this dish!

Feel free to comment!

