Reading picnic

As I was looking at the newest blogs that I follow, I stumbled upon a neat idea. A reading picnic. You lay a blanket down inside, throw on some pillows and bring some snacks.

I got the idea from the pinterested parent

20140507-195331.jpg
I asked Chloe to go and pick some books. I think she grabbed about 5. I sent her for a few more, while I grabbed a couple laying on the floor. We sat on the floor and while I read some books, Chloe snacked. I got her to focus on a few books and we identified pictures.
She has been struggling a bit with sitting and actually looking at the books we read together. This seemed to help her pay more attention to the book and pictures. She also was more focused at bedtime when we read books since we have tried this reading picnic!
I really like this idea and I plan to do it frequently.

One thought on “Reading picnic

Feel free to comment!

