Beef stroganoff

On Saturday, I had my friend Shannon and her daughter over for dinner. I decided to try a recipe from gimme some oven for beef stroganoff. It is something I have never made from scratch before.
Before Shannon came over, I prepped all the ingredients so that I would only have to do the cooking while she was over.

20140504-212623.jpg
The recipe calls for a pound of mushrooms, but I didn’t have quite that amount. And of course I looked at my bag of egg noodles right before I started cooking and realized we were going to need more. My husband, Matt, offered to grab more from the store. He came home with a kind of egg noodle, but not the kind that typically goes with stroganoff (see last picture). In the end, it made no difference to any of us.

I’m glad I did some of the work before she came because I got caught up in talking and made a few errors that luckily didn’t change the outcome.
I cooked up all the beef, sautéed the onions and then added the mushrooms and garlic.

20140504-213312.jpg
Instead of white wine, I opted for the beef broth to deglaze the pan. I’m sure white wine would have been yummy though.
After that, I added the rest of the ingredients to make the sauce and then added the beef back in.

20140504-213524.jpg
The verdict? Every plate, including both 21 month old girls, were completely clear. Um, I’d call that a success!!

20140504-213704.jpg
Not only was the recipe delicious, but it was also easy and fed 4 adults and 2 toddlers. What more could you ask for?!

What did you have for dinner?

Feel free to comment!

