Roasted Cauliflower and Leek soup

If you haven’t noticed, I’ve kind of gone on a recipe binge lately. Cauliflower was on sale this week, so I bought two so I could make some delicious recipes. This recipe looked yummy and something I could make.
Good thing I looked at this recipe in the morning, because I noticed that I was supposed to soak the cashews overnight. Oops. I soaked them the whole day, and I think that was fine.

20140502-223328.jpg
I cut up the cauliflower and leeks with the garlic to roast. This is what it look like after 26 minutes in the oven

20140502-223735.jpg
All that was left after roasting was to throw the ingredients into a blender and to warm the soup in a pot. The recipe recommends a specific kind of blender to make the soup smooth. I have a ninja blender that is new and is great! That being said, I couldn’t get the soup smooth.

20140502-224424.jpg
After I put the soup into the pot, I used an immersion blender to try to get it smooth. Unfortunately, I could not get this soup as smooth as I would have liked. Also, I did not put the vinegar in at the end, as I did not have it.
I think I should have added a bit more of the red pepper flakes to pump up the flavor a bit. It was a decent soup, although not my favorite.

Feel free to comment!

