Spaghetti squash Alfredo

I found this recipe for skinny spaghetti squash Alfredo on Pinterest a while back. It looked amazing. While trying to find a side dish for dinner the other night, I saw the pin and decided to give it a try.
The first step is roasting the spaghetti squash. I didn’t notice a temperature to cook it at on the recipe so I just put my oven to 350 degrees F. They stayed in the oven for an hour.

20140501-220625.jpg
When the squash was close to done, I made the sauce. The recipe called for skim milk, thus making it “skinny”. I chose to use 3.25% milk as we had some that needed to be used. So I guess mine can’t be called skinny. Also, the recipe calls for Parmesan cheese, but the real stuff that you grate is quite pricey. I decided to try it with the pre-grated cheese.

20140501-221044.jpg
I scraped the squash to make it into “spaghetti”. Then added the Alfredo sauce on top. The picture does not do it justice.

20140501-221502.jpg
I mixed up the sauce with the squash and put it on broil for a few minutes, skipping the step of adding extra parmesan to the top. Once I took it out, I added fresh parsley, opting out of the red pepper flakes.

20140501-221852.jpg

This was a huge hit with my husband, myself and a friend of ours. I was really hoping my daughter would eat it since she is a noodle lover. She was not convinced. Mind you, she’s almost 2 and generally changes her mind daily as to what she likes.

What new recipe have you tried that was a success?

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti squash Alfredo

Feel free to comment!

